Last run for apples & pears

img_3389

This weekend was our last weekend for running out and buying freshly growing produce. We picked up the last of the fall pears, Minnesota grown squash and 20 more pounds of Macintosh apples from our favorite orchard in La Crescent- Bauer’s Marketplace. We were headed over in that direction for one last look at all the fall colors and surprised ourselves with an impromptu picnic. The last couple of weekends have been absolutely beautiful both here in Wisconsin and along the Mississippi near La Crescent, Minnesota. From now until spring of 2017 we will eat from our freezer all of the produce we bought this past summer and fall.
photo-11

Soon it will be my 52nd birthday and I’m looking forward to a nice meal, catching up on reading and of course a walk in nature with my husband.

52

This is the time of year everything begins to move so much more quickly, at least that is how I feel. A promise I am making to myself this year on my birthday is to begin to take things a bit slower in my life, to savor the moments more rather than hurry up and on to the next thing. Everyday I want to accomplish so much, but to be honest, I need to learn how to pace myself better.  I’ll be back November 2nd with new posts, I am going to take the next week off to get ready for a Halloween Party after a birthday weekend and one of our first volunteering events of the year. Until next time– Have a Happy Halloween!

halloween

