Lemon Cream Fillo Napoleon

lemon-8Whether it be oranges or lemons the smell of something citrus is my favorite smell in the whole world, right next to hay and fresh cut grass. We began growing our Meyer Lemon tree three years ago from seed. This year is the first year it has produced fruit.  I use lemons for cleaning, cooking, and baking. And there is nothing in the world like growing your own food. It has been a real pleasure growing our lemon tree. We’ve even started two more from seed. Along with the lovely lemon balm, I grew for making soap, everything in and around our home, at this time, smells like our lovely lemons.

IMG_0964 (1)

So I couldn’t resist catching an episode of Ina Garten where her and a friend are making Lemon Cream Napoleons. This dessert is a real favorite of my husband’s. In the Netherlands, they add vanilla cream between the fillo wafers which is good, but not near as good as the lemon is. The episode can be found on Netflix on Ina Garten’s Back to Basics Collection. Or you can go to the Food Network site and find it here. I have several of Ina’s cookbooks, including her Back to Basics (my favorite), but find watching her show to be very helpful to my getting everything called for in the recipe just right.

This weekend we had fun at two local fall festivals, we also experienced walking through a corn maze and drank lots of fresh apple cider. I also bought extra cider and cider donuts and froze both to enjoy this winter. I use the apple cider for pancakes, marinade and to make bbq sauce from.  I add it to my homemade bbq sauce for pork and the meat just falls off the bone- so tender and so full of taste.

October is passing by so fast, it’s already the 4th. Speaking of October, October is Breast Cancer Awareness month. Even though I think often of those around me dealing with cancer, or that they have family dealing with it, I’m especially aware of it in October. Around here we have the 5k Cancer Run, the Think Pink 5k, and the Breast Cancer Awareness Walk. Though I have known two women in my life, both co-workers, who were diagnosed with Breast Cancer, I have been fortunate to remain breast cancer free (so far, fingers crossed). Cancer was one of the biggest reasons I quit smoking at 39. That said when I was in my late twenties and also in my early thirties I was diagnosed with skin cancer.

The first time it was found on my leg, it was caught early and excision ( it was cut out) was used to remove it. I was really scared, and unfortunately, this happened before I met my husband, and I had to go through it alone. About a year later another growth was found on my elbow and this time cryo-therapy (frozen off) was used to remove it. The last time a growth was found, again on my leg, cryotherapy was also used. It should be noted I’ve never laid out in the sun or used a tanning bed. However, people who have fair skin, light hair, and eyes and have ancestors from places like England, Norway, Sweden and Ireland often end up with skin cancer. I have used sunscreen for years and now faithfully check all my many hundreds of freckles, moles and even keep a close eye on my age spots. I’ve been lucky now for over fifteen years. As far as my husband goes, I won’t even begin to discuss how covered in moles (hereditary) he is and how much time each month it takes to look at them all. Some we have to take photos of and keep track of etc. We have had a few doctor’s appointments where we’ve had to wait for the results. So tormenting, but thus far he has been lucky. Be vigilant, check yourself often and definitely seek a doctor’s opinion if you notice anything unusual or changed on your skin or any lumps anywhere on your body.

Until next time, enjoy what’s left of fall in your neck of the woods!

