Freezer Creamed Corn

sweet corn

Summer food is beginning to make its appearance around these parts of Wisconsin. Locally the first of the sweet corn became available as well as this year’s first strawberries. From this time throughout the summer, we will buy both and enjoy them as they only get sweeter as the summer sun shines upon them each day. We’ve enjoyed asparagus and rhubarb lately and I’ve frozen both for later on. With strawberries, we either buy them at the farmer’s market or my husband and I go pick them at a local u-pick field. I freeze some, eat some, and make refrigerator jam out of the rest. With sweet corn, because of my allergies, I must eat corn in moderation. Although I would just love to sit down, as I once did, and eat 10 ears of corn at one sitting (sigh). I am pleased to announce though that my wheat and corn intolerance has gotten much better since I began taking a daily probiotic. Since around last fall, I’ve actually been able to return to eating most food products containing both wheat and corn without issue. We picked up 10 ears to try and if they’re good (sometimes the really early stuff is not) I’ll go back for more. We eat it and make salads with it and freeze it. I make freezer creamed corn, that I learned how to make almost thirty years ago now, and we enjoy it all winter long.

Here’s the recipe-

20 c. raw corn
1 lb. butter
1 pt. half and half
Salt to taste
1 tbsp. sugar

Mix all ingredients. Bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour. Cool, put in containers and freeze.

I also make a fresh cucumber, tomato and corn salad that goes great with shrimp. I use equal parts corn, chopped tomatoes and cucumbers mix them all together and drizzle a bit of Italian dressing over it. I also use this salad as the bed for my delicious grilled shrimp. Try it, you’ll love it.

By now my husband and I are a few days into our Door County stay, tossing the frisbee around, dipping our toes in the water and enjoying this view

door county lake view

 

