Lemon Lavender Scones

lemon lavender scone

It’s hard to decide what I love more, rosemary or lavender. I grow them both here inside and outside of my home all year round. I buy rosemary in the spring and plant it in containers on my deck and harvest throughout the year. I make lavender sachets with the lavender I grow. For cooking and baking, I buy culinary lavender throughout the year, using it whenever I make lavender ice cream. Every slow roasting chicken we make fills the air with fragrant rosemary. Honestly, I love them both.

When I sat down to plan my Easter menu I decided to try something new for Easter breakfast, Lemon Lavender Scones. I’m pretty excited to make them as I’ve never eaten a scone before.  Our Easter Sunday will be a quick and delicious breakfast of scones, hard-boiled eggs, and juice then church and back home to work on the dinner meal which will be served midday. We’ve invited four friends who did not otherwise have plans and I’ll be serving- Ham with a honey and brown sugar glaze, homemade scalloped potatoes, green beans with vinaigrette, roasted carrots (Ina Garten’s recipe), homemade rolls and New York Style Cheesecake. After the meal, there will be cards, crosswords, and board games for all.

I’m so looking forward to spring planting, I’ve got all my seeds started and the tomatoes and carrots are already sprouting. Along with getting our container gardens going my husband and I are looking forward to getting back to biking, something we do all summer long. Until next time, have a great weekend. Happy Easter to those that celebrate the holiday.

Source

