In the garden

DSCN3568

The Ball canning company has helped me immensely with a way to preserve my herbs. Usually, I just take my rosemary and lavender and freeze them in freezer bags. Saturday I was shopping, and there in the canning aisle, I found a 4-pack of jars with screw on lids (plus shaker insert). Instead of freezing all my herbs, I kept some back and then used these jars to store some fresh in the refrigerator. I found them at Walmart- 4 pk (4 oz. each) for $4.98 in the canning section.

This past weekend I put up 13- 1/2 gallon bags of sliced beets;

I cook the beets until tender, remove their skins, cool in an ice bath and freeze in 1-gallon freezer bags.

DSCN3426

10- 1/2 gallon bags of sliced carrots; I peel the carrots and chop off the ends. I then slice and blanch in boiling water for 3 minutes. I give them an ice bath to stop them from cooking and freeze meal portions in 1-gallon freezer bags.

DSCN3586

My current diet is eating three or four different veggies and two fruits each meal. Occasionally I will really crave a form of protein so I boil two eggs. I am able to eat other foods as long as they are gluten-free. I am doing great on this diet, feeling better than I have in a long time. I am down to pre-married weight-yay! In a way, my being gluten intolerant has been a blessing for me. Silver linings friends, silver linings. A typical day of meals for me goes something like this:

Breakfast– 3/4 c. of Fage plain yogurt, 1 glass of fresh squeezed Oj, and 3 prunes.

Mid -morning snack– handful of raisins, apple slices or celery sticks

Lunch– gluten free bread with gluten free lunch meat topped with tomatoes, lettuce and cuke slices, apple or pear and usually a mozzarella stick or two.

Dinner– sliced cucumbers and tomatoes, boiled egg, tossed salad with beets and zucchini, banana with either strawberries or applesauce for dessert.  I substitute the egg for a baked potato, or couscous or quinoa at times. Sometimes, depending on how hungry I am, I add a good hearty vegetable soup by Wolfgang Puck to go with my dinner meal. As I said I eat gluten free meals-pizza, pasta, soups along with 3-4 servings of fresh veggies a day and 2-3 servings of fresh fruit a day.  As far as beverages go- I drink fresh orange juice, Pom juice, water, lemonade and at least a 1/2 c. of whole milk a day. Now and then throughout the summer, I drink good cold A & W root beer and in the fall/winter homemade hot cocoa.

 

Have a super last week of August, until next time.

